WITCH DANCE PROJECT

EIN TANZFONDS ERBE PROJEKT

 

Witchcraft, shamanism and rituals have been influencing contemporary dance from the beginning.  One of the most famous pieces in this context is the expressionist soloHexentanz 2 (1926) by Mary Wigman. Decades after the piece premiered the term “witch” is experiencing a radical redefinition through the feminist movement: strong women who are standing up against oppression. Over a three-day dance happening the Witch Dance Project will be dedicated to the reconstruction of Wigman’s solo through a non-European or rather queer perspective: ten international choreographers will not only take on the dance material but will also deal with the term “witch” in various cultures. The results are works which connect current theories to Wigman’s Hexentanz, and examine how this extraordinary piece is received and taken into new dimensions. The comprehensive program will be complimented, reflected and expanded upon with lecture performances, films, live rituals and discussions.

 

>> DOWNLOAD FULL PROGRAMME <<

 

PROGRAMME

 

OKTOBER 06

6.30pm physical introduction Tanzscout Berlin, Tickets 5€

6.30pm lecture Which is the Witch? by Nora Amin

8pm performances by Claire Vivianne Sobottke, Jahra "Rager" Wasasala, Darlane Litaay, Dana Michel

10pm young girl reading group #134

OKTOBER 07

7pm lecture GEGEN Witches von Francesco Macarone Palmieri aka WARBEAR + Alessia D´artino aka A/ONA

8pm performances by Melanie Jame Wolf, Christine Joy Alpuerto Ritter, Nadia Beugré + Manou Gallo

approx. 9.30pm Samhain(Halloween) ritual with Attis Silke Beyn

OKTOBER 08

6pm film screening She’s beautiful when she’s angry

8pm performances by Rodrigo Alves Garcia/Studio Disorder, Danya Hammoud, Melati Suryodarmo

approx. 9.30pm lecture Mary Wigman and Asia by Susan Manning and talk with the artists and Irene Sieben

approx. 11pm party with DJ Ziúr + DJ Pam Bam

OKTOBER 09

11am-6pm Workshop HexenFrauenKrauft with Attis Silke Beyn


WITH PERFORMANCES BY Nadia Beugré + Manou Gallo, Rodrigo Garcia Alves, Danya Hammoud, Darlane Litaay, Dana Michel, Jahra "Rager" Wasasala, Christine Joy Alpuerto Ritter, Claire Vivianne Sobottke, Melati Suryodarmo, Melanie Jame Wolf ACCOMPANYING PROGRAMME BY Attis Silke Beyn, Alessia D´artino aka A/ONA, Francesco Macarone Palmieri aka WARBEAR, Susan Manning, Irene Sieben, young girl reading group IDEA Christoph Winkler CURATION Franziska Werner, Christoph Winkler DRAMATURGY ehrliche arbeit - freies Kulturbüro TECHNICAL DIRECTION OF PRODUCTION, LIGHT DESIGN Arne Schmitt MANAGEMENT Franziska Schrage, Johanna Withelm

 

A project by Christoph Winkler and SOPHIENSÆLE in collaboration with ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro. Funded by TANZFONDS ERBE – eine Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes and the Governing Mayor of Berlin – Senate Chancellery – Cultural Affairs/Kofinanzierungsfonds. Friendly supported by International Research Center "Interweaving Performance Cultures". Media partners: Missy Magazine, taz.die tageszeitung.

 

       

  

sophiensaele sophiensaele

WITCH DANCE PROJECT

EIN TANZFONDS ERBE PROJEKT

 

Hexerei, Schamanismus und Rituale beeinflussen den zeitgenössischen Tanz von Anbeginn. Eines der bekanntesten Werke ist in diesem Kontext das expressionistische Solo Hexentanz 2 (1926) von Mary Wigman. Jahrzehnte nach der Premiere des Stückes erfährt der Begriff „Hexe“ eine radikale Umdeutung durch die Frauenbewegung: Starke Frauen, die sich gegen Unterdrückung auflehnen. Das Witch Dance Project widmet sich nun in einem dreitägigen Tanz-Happening der Rekonstruktion von Wigmans Solo aus außereuropäischer bzw. queerer Perspektive: Zehn internationale Choreografinnen nehmen sich sowohl des tänzerischen Materials als auch des Begriffs der „Hexe“ in verschiedenen Kulturen an. Entstanden sind Arbeiten, die aktuelle Theorien mit Wigmans Hexentanz verbinden und die Rezeption dieser außergewöhnlichen Arbeit in neue Dimensionen führen. Ergänzt, gespiegelt und erweitert wird das dichte Programm durch Lecture Performances, Filme, Live-Rituale und Gespräche.

 

>> KOMPLETTES PROGRAMM ZUM DOWNLOAD <<

 

PROGRAMMABLAUF

 

OKTOBER 06

18.30 Uhr Einführung Tanzscout Berlin, Tickets 5 Euro

18.30 Uhr Vortrag Which is the Witch? von Nora Amin

20 Uhr Arbeiten von Claire Vivianne Sobottke, Jahra Rager Wasasala, Darlane Litaay, Dana Michel

22 Uhr Lesekreis young girl reading group

OKTOBER 07

19 Uhr Lecture GEGEN Witches von Francesco Macarone Palmieri aka WARBEAR + Alessia D`artino aka A/ONA

20 Uhr Arbeiten von Melanie Jame Wolf, Christine Joy Alpuerto Ritter, Nadia Beugré + Manou Gallo

ca. 21.30 Uhr Ritual zu Samhain (Halloween) von Attis Silke Beyn

OKTOBER 08

18 Uhr Filmscreening She’s beautiful when she’s angry

20 Uhr Arbeiten von Rodrigo Alves Garcia/Studio Disorder, Danya Hammoud, Melati Suryodarmo

ca. 21.30 Uhr Vortrag Mary Wigman and Asia von Susan Manning und anschließend Publikumsgespräch mit allen Beteiligten und Irene Sieben

ca. 23 Uhr Party mit DJ Ziúr + DJ Pam Bam

OKTOBER 09

11-18 Uhr Workshop HexenFrauenKrauft mit Attis Silke Beyn

 

 

MIT AUFTRAGSARBEITEN VON Nadia Beugré + Manou Gallo, Rodrigo Garcia Alves, Danya Hammoud, Darlane Litaay, Dana Michel, Jahra "Rager" Wasasala, Christine Joy Alpuerto Ritter, Claire Vivianne Sobottke, Melati Suryodarmo, Melanie Jame Wolf RAHMENPROGRAMM MIT Attis Silke Beyn, Alessia D`artino aka A/ONA, Francesco Macarone Palmieri aka WARBEAR, Susan Manning, Irene Sieben, young girl reading group u.a. IDEE Christoph Winkler KURATION Franziska Werner, Christoph Winkler DRAMATURGIE ehrliche arbeit - freies Kulturbüro TECHNISCHE PRODUKTIONSLEITUNG, LICHTDESIGN Arne Schmitt PRODUKTION Franziska Schrage, Johanna Withelm

 

Ein Projekt von Christoph Winkler und SOPHIENSÆLE in Zusammenarbeit mit ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro. Gefördert von TANZFONDS ERBE – eine Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, und dem Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten/Kofinanzierungsfonds. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des International Research Center "Interweaving Performance Cultures". Medienpartner: Missy Magazine, taz.die tageszeitung.

 

       

  

sophiensaele sophiensaele