THE CRAFTSMAN’S WORKSHOP

The Sophiensæle is located in the former building of the craftsman's association, whose turbulent history begins with its construction in 1904/1905. It was built in one of the oldest streets of the Berlin-Mitte: the over 300-year-old Sophienstraße.

 

Founded in 1844, the craftsman’s association was a special type of educational society for blue-collar workers. Its purpose was to offer specialized jobtraining for craftsmen and prepare them for their master craftsman’s diploma examination and to host friendly get-togethers.

 

The building complex, whose ground plot resembles an “H”, consisted of over 90 rooms, instruction rooms, a restaurant with a beer garden, a library, a skittle alley, and more. The Festsaal (banquet hall) and the restaurant on the ground floor were rented out to an independent leaseholder under the name Sophien-Säle (Sophie-halls). Already at the time, the Festsaal was a popular location for theatre.

 

The building’s most meaningful time politically began with its use by the working class movement in the early 20th century. In the 1910s and ‘20s, the building was frequently used as an assembly space by the revolutionary left in Berlin, who were based on the nearby Rosenthaler Straße. Famous revolutionaries Karl Liebknecht and Rosa Luxemburg spoke here. During the Third Reich, forced labourers from Holland produced propaganda-leaflets for the Nazis in the Festsaal. In the German Democratic Republic, the rooms were used by the Maxim Gorki Theatre as workshops, while the Hochzeitssaal (wedding hall) functioned as a dining hall and the Festsaal held a large carpenter’s workshop.

 

In the fall of 1996, the Sophiensæle was opened as a space for independent theatre production with the premiere of Sasha Waltz‘ successful play “Allee der Kosmonauten“ (Boulevard of the Cosmonauts). The production was invited to the festival Theatertreffen in 1997 and quickly generated public interest in the new theatre. From 2000 to 2007 Amelie Deuflhard took over as artistic director of the theatre, followed (until 2010) by Heike Albrecht. Since 2011 the artistic director of Sophiensæle is Franziska Werner. Today, Sophiensæle is one of the most important locations for German-speaking independent art-production.

 

A guided historical tour of the Sophiensæle is available for groups of five people or more. For more information or to book a tour, please contact us. Phone: (030) 2789 00 33 / (030) 283 52 67 presse@sophiensaele.com

sophiensaele sophiensaele

Das Handwerkervereinshaus

Die Sophiensæle befinden sich im ehemaligen Handwerkervereinshaus, dessen bewegte Geschichte mit seinem Bau 1904/1905 beginnt. Zu finden ist es in einer der ältesten Straßen der Spandauer Vorstadt: der über 300 Jahre alten Sophienstraße. Der bereits 1844 gegründete "Berliner Handwerkerverein" war eine spezielle Form des Arbeiterbildungsvereins: sein Zweck war die fachliche Weiterbildung von Handwerksgesellen, ihre Vorbereitungen auf die Meisterprüfung, aber auch geselliges Zusammensein.

Der Gebäudekomplex, dessen Grundriss einem "H" gleicht, besteht aus über 90 Räumen: Schulungsräume, ein Restaurant mit Biergarten, eine Bibliothek, eine Kegelbahn u.a. Der Festsaal wurde zusammen mit dem im Erdgeschoss gelegenen Restaurant unter dem Namen "Sophien-Säle" an einen unabhängigen Pächter vermietet und galt bereits damals als beliebter Theaterort.

Mit der Nutzung durch die Berliner Arbeiterbewegung begann die für das Haus bis heute bedeutungsvollste politische Zeit. In den 10er und 20er Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts wurde das Gebäude als Versammlungsort der revolutionären Linken genutzt. Unter anderem sprachen Karl Liebknecht und Rosa Luxemburg hier. Während der NS-Zeit arbeiteten holländische Zwangsarbeiter im Festsaal an der Herstellung von NS-Flugblättern. In der DDR wurden die Räumlichkeiten vom Maxim-Gorki-Theater als Werkstätten genutzt. Im "Hochzeitssaal" befand sich etwa der Malsaal, im "Großen Festsaal" die Schreinerei.

Im Herbst 1996 wurden die Sophiensæle mit der Uraufführung von Sasha Waltz' Erfolgsstück Allee der Kosmonauten als Produktions- und Spielstätte für Freies Theater eröffnet. Das Stück wurde zum Theatertreffen 1997 eingeladen und verschaffte den neu gegründeten Sophiensælen schnell große Aufmerksamkeit. Von 2000 bis 2007 übernahm Amelie Deuflhard die künstlerische Leitung des Hauses, gefolgt (bis 2010) von Heike Albrecht. Seit 2011 ist Franziska Werner Künstlerische Leiterin es Hauses. Heute sind die Sophiensæle einer der wichtigsten Produktions- und Spielorte für die Freien darstellenden Künste im deutschsprachigen Raum.


Historische Führungen durch das Gebäude finden an je einem Sonntag im Monat (genaue Termine hier) statt oder können für Gruppen ab fünf Personen gebucht werden. Anfragen bitte an: T. (030) 2789 00 33 F. (030) 283 52 67 presse@sophiensaele.com

sophiensaele sophiensaele