Across the Middle, Past the East

An Unsettled Cabaret

A temporary collective of female identified artists with Eastern Mediterranean origins are delving into the complexity of the region. Together and apart we are uncovering the configurations of cultures, nations and identities, and how they mesh together into our conflicted histories, narratives, desires and dreams. What distinguishes us from our citizenships and how can we de-nationalize ourselves without erasing our cultural identities? How do we speak and work together taking into consideration privilege, political-social conflicts and struggles, and cultural differences? Can working together be a way of resisting systemic oppression? Through the eyes of our ancestors and our female role models from previous generations we are looking at the capacities and intentions to making art in a time and place of heightened patriarchy. Many things have changed, some things haven’t - one still finds herself needing to look for or find a new home. We are reclaiming the right to have a complex identity, to exchange and correspond with the bodies living next to us, to travel to unknown destinations passing through new homes and exiles. In the tradition of the cabaret the performance tackles intense political and intimate matters with tunes and wiggles, drinks and nibbles, all for your European gaze.

 

BY AND WITH Enana, Fulvia Dallal, Roni Katz, Diva Maguy, Sirine Malas, Lee Mèir, Moona Moon, Rasha Nahas, Miranda De La Frontera CONCEPT Roni Katz, Lee Méir GUESTS Sandra Noeth, Kattrin Deufert, Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi LIGHT Gretchen Blegen PRODUCTION Annett Hardegen


A production by Roni Katz + Lee Méir in collaboration with Vierte Welt. Funded by the Capital Cultural Fonds and the foundation Zurückgeben. The replay is supported by the Senate Administration for Culture and Europe. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung

 

 

 





   

 

Foto © André Lewski

Cabaret / Performance


DATES

2019
March
21 22 23 24 
20:00


Location
Kantine


TICKETS
15/10 EURO


Suitable for English Speakers















sophiensaele sophiensaele

Across the Middle, Past the East

An Unsettled Cabaret

Ein Cabaret mit Schnaps und Musik, Glamour und schwarzem Humor: Ein temporäres Kollektiv weiblich-identifizierter Künstlerinnen mit Wurzeln im östlichen Mittelmeer-raum vertieft sich in die Komplexität ihrer geteilten Herkunftsregion: Gemeinsam enthüllen sie die Geflechte aus Kulturen, Nationen und Identitäten und deren Verwicklung innerhalb ihrer Geschichten und Narrative, Wünsche und Träume. Was unterscheidet Individuen von ihrer nationalen Identität und wie kann Denken entnationalisiert werden, ohne kulturelle Identitäten aufzugeben? Wie kann man unter Berücksichtigung von Privileg, politischen und sozialen Konflikten und kulturellen Unterschieden miteinander sprechen und arbeiten? Kann diese Zusammenarbeit ein Akt des Widerstands gegen systemische Unterdrückung sein? Mit den Augen ihrer Vorfahren und weiblichen Vorbildern aus vorangegangenen Generationen werfen sie einen Blick auf die Möglichkeiten und Notwendigkeiten des Kunstschaffens in Zeiten des verschärften Patriarchats. Manche Dinge haben sich verändert und Einiges ist geblieben - noch immer finden sie sich stets auf der Suche nach einem neuen Zuhause. Sie bestehen auf das Recht zu komplexen Identitäten, in Kontakt und Austausch mit fremden Körpern zu treten, an unbekannte Orte zu reisen, und dabei immer wieder ein neues Zuhause im Exil zu finden.



VON UND MIT Enana, Fulvia Dallal, Roni Katz, Sirine Malas, Lee Mèir, Moona Moon, Rasha Nahas, Miranda De La Frontera KONZEPT Roni Katz, Lee Méir GÄSTE Sandra Noeth, Kattrin Deufert, Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi LICHT Gretchen Blegen SOUND TECHNIK Catalina Fernanadez PRODUKTION Annett Hardegen

Eine Produktion von Roni Katz + Lee Méir in Kollaboration mit Vierte Welt. Gefördert vom Hauptstadtkulturfonds und der Stiftung Zurückgeben. Die Wiederaufnahme wird gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung

 



   

 

Foto © André Lewski

Cabaret / Performance


Aufführungen

2019
märz
21 22 23 24 
20:00 UHR


ORT
Kantine


TICKETS
15/10 EURO



Suitable for English Speakers















sophiensaele sophiensaele