TANZTAGE BERLIN 2017

For 21 years now Tanztage Berlin has been a solid institution for the Berlin dance landscape and the most important date for up-and-coming choreographers of the city. In its 26th festival edition the artists are diving deep into the structures which surround us on a daily basis: in eight premieres and four revivals of past productions they will examine the measurability and illusion of time and will make the algorithms, which are imperceptible but yet constantly surround us in the internet, tangible to us in the analogue world. They transfer methods of musical composition into choreography and examine everyday gestures like an embrace as well as hauled out of daily life gestures of ritual worship. They dance with the mind, think with the body, they fight against reality and let vampires sink their teeth into the existential structures of desire and death!

 

Every year anew the Tanztage Berlin connect with a different non-European dance scene – this time five artists from Tehran present their work. Other guests include three former Tanztage-artists who ask themselves whether the success in the past few years of documentary theater can also inspire dance to take a new look at reality. In short solo pieces they try out various documentary work processes.

 

Creating just as much commotion as the pieces themselves is the return of the feedback format Let’s Talk About Dance! Of course we can’t skip over the legendary festival parties at which the Berliner choreographers can be experienced live in performances, music projects and as DJs!

 

We cordially invite you to kick-off another Tanzyear with us together!

 

>>DOWNLOAD PROGRAMME<<

 

With Akiles, Anna Aristarkhova, Cécile Bally, Mab Cardoso, Philipp Enders, Tomasz Foltyn, Frantics Dance Company, Keyon Gaskin, Zeina Hanna, Alice Heyward, Tarren Johnson + Mira Obrien, Miriam Kongstad, Magda Korsinsky, Marquet K. Lee, Elpida Orfanidou, Juliana Piquero, Julia Rodriguez, Niloufar Shahisavandi + Solmaz Sajadieh, female trouble, Maria Walser SPECIAL GUESTS Nargess Behrouzian, Sorour Darabi, Masoumeh Jalalieh, Mehrdad Motejalli, Raheleh Taabodi artistic director Anna Mülter PRODUcTION management Franziska Schrage PRODUcTION assistance Johanna Withelm DRAMATURGIcal SUPPORT Thomas Schaupp, Maja Zimmermann

 

The 26th Tanztage Berlin are a production of SOPHIENSÆLE. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the support of Goethe-Institut, Tanzfabrik Berlin e.V. and mapping dance berlin. Media partners: taz. die tageszeitung, Zitty, Tanz

 

Graphic © Jan Grygoriew

 

 

          

sophiensaele sophiensaele

TANZTAGE BERLIN 2017

Seit 21 Jahren sind die Tanztage Berlin eine feste Institution in der Berliner Tanzlandschaft und wichtigster Termin für den choreografischen Nachwuchs der Stadt. In der mittlerweile 26. Ausgabe des Festivals tauchen die Künstler_innen tief ein in die Strukturen, die uns täglich umgeben: In acht Premieren und vier Wiederaufnahmen untersuchen sie die Messbarkeit und Illusion von Zeit und machen die Algorithmen, die uns im Internet ständig, aber kaum wahrnehmbar umgeben, in der analogen Welt erfahrbar. Sie übertragen Methoden der musikalischen Komposition in Choreografie und erforschen alltägliche Gesten der Umarmung und aus dem Alltag herausgehobene Gesten der rituellen Anbetung. Sie tanzen mit dem Verstand, denken mit dem Körper, sagen der Realität den Kampf an und lassen Vampire ihre Zähne in die existentiellen Strukturen von Begehren und Tod schlagen!

 

Jedes Jahr aufs Neue vernetzen sich die Tanztage Berlin mit einer anderen außereuropäischen Tanzszene – dieses Mal präsentieren fünf Künstler_innen aus Teheran ihre Arbeiten. Zu Gast sind darüber hinaus vier ehemalige Tanztage-Künstlerinnen, die sich fragen, ob der Erfolg des Dokumentartheaters auch den Tanz zu einem neuen Blick auf die Realität inspirieren kann. In kurzen Soli probieren sie verschiedene dokumentarische Arbeitsweisen aus.

 

Für ebenso viel Gesprächsstoff wie die Stücke selbst sorgt erneut das Feedback-Format Let’s Talk About Dance, und natürlich dürfen auch die legendären Festivalpartys nicht fehlen, bei denen die Berliner Choreograf_innen in Performances, Musikprojekten und als DJs zu erleben sind!

 

Wir laden Sie herzlich ein, gemeinsam mit uns in ein weiteres Tanzjahr
zu starten!


>>DOWNLOAD PROGRAMMHEFT<<

 

 

 

MIT Akiles, Anna Aristarkhova, Cécile Bally, Mab Cardoso, Philipp Enders, Tomasz Foltyn, Frantics Dance Company, Keyon Gaskin, Zeina Hanna, Alice Heyward, Tarren Johnson + Mira Obrien, Miriam Kongstad, Magda Korsinsky, Marquet K. Lee, Elpida Orfanidou, Juliana Piquero, Julia Rodriguez, Niloufar Shahisavandi + Solmaz Sajadieh, female trouble, Maria Walser SPECIAL GUESTS Nargess Behrouzian, Sorour Darabi, Masoumeh Jalalieh, Mehrdad Motejalli, Raheleh Taabodi KÜNSTLERISCHE LEITUNG Anna Mülter PRODUKTIONSLEITUNG Franziska Schrage PRODUKTIONSASSISTENZ Johanna Withelm DRAMATURGISCHE BEGLEITUNG Thomas Schaupp, Maja Zimmermann

 

Die 26. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Goethe-Institut, Deutsche Botschaft Teheran, Tanzfabrik Berlin e.V. und mapping dance berlin. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung, Zitty, Tanz

 

Motiv © Jan Grygoriew

 

          

sophiensaele sophiensaele